The Utah Golf Association was informally organized during the early years of Utah golf and during the first half century its only role was to conduct the Utah State Amateur. It was almost always held at the Salt Lake Country Club and so various members of the club filled that role.

Steve Dunford played the most significant role during the 50s and 60s and served as president for 14 years during that time period. The USGA adopted what was hoped to become a nationally unified handicap system in 1967 and George Marks took prime responsibility to get that functioning in Utah.

The UGA was not officially incorporated until 1966. Ray Dubois was the first president of the newly incorporated UGA. Others involved in the original organization included George Marks, Steve Dunford, Alan Bader, Glen Lewis, and Bill Schultz. George Marks was the executive secretary and executive director from 1969 to 1982.


UGA Presidents

UGA By-Laws


Executive Directors

  • 1969 - 1982         George Marks
  • 1982 - 1985         Dick Alexander
  • 1985 - 1990         Mark Passey
  • 1990 - 2008         Joe Watts
  • 2009 - 2010         Thomas Pagel
  • 2011 - 2017          Bill Walker
  • 2018 - Present     Jacob Miller